Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Goodbye Athens - Hello Greek Islands

    September 4, 2021 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    ‍This morning I decided to get a meal off the menu instead of using the Buffet.  I ended up getting an egg overeasy, a sausage, a half slice of toast, black coffee and grapefruit juice. A lot less food and more of what I wanted to eat.   After breakfast, I checked us out of the hotel and we got on the bus to go to the National Archeological Museum.  Our luggage was being moved to the ship as we toured the museum.  The museum was nice.  Our guide took us through several of the exhibits and then we had about 45 minutes to check out anything else we wanted to see.  Then it was off to the pier to go through the process of getting on the ship.  We had to go in and show our Vaccination cards and fill out paperwork to get our COVID-19 tests.  The process was pretty straightforward and relatively quick.  We were negative (again).  Then we got our key cards and got on the ship.  Lunch was ready, so after we got to our room and dropped off our carry on bags, we headed to the the Lounge where lunch was served.   Lunch was a buffet.  I got a chicken gyro some veggies and John got chicken tikka.  Both were good.   I went back to our cabin and our luggage had been delivered.  I went back up to the Lounge and John and I walked around the ship on two levels just to get some exercise and take in the ship.  I was hoping I would get familiar with the ship, but so far that hasn't happened. 

    Then we returned to our cabin and unpacked.  At 3:30, there was a safety drill.  Evidently, they are required to have several of them while we are sailing.  They don't take long so, no biggy (I hope).  We also found out that Greece Government is now requiring that we be tested this coming Monday.  So at that point John and I will have been tested 4 times in three weeks. But it's all good. 

    As we  were "setting sail" we got to watch the sails being unfurled.    That was impressive.   And within a few minutes we were out of the "seabreak" and into the Mediterranean sea - our cruise has begun!

    Before dinner we got a briefing about Milos, our first "port of call". We also learned that because of weather forecasts we will be swapping the days we go to Santorini and Mykonos. 

    Dinner was pretty good.  I had a tomato tart for an appetizer that was excellent.  John's steak was very good, but my shrimp and scallop risotto was just so so (it initally came with no scallops). I mentioned the "oversight" and they brought me the scallops for the risotto.  The panacotta we had for dessert was excellent, too. 

    I am still *very* confused when trying to get around on the ship. I just can't remember where everything is.  I have taken a picture of the ship's deck plans.  Hopefully, I will get oriented before the trip is over. 

    I am excited about this trip.  It has been a lesson in flexibility and I am sure there will be additional opportunities to be flexible.  The flexibility aspect makes this more of an adventure.  I like that.
    Read more