Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Day 25 - Rain, rain, go away

    October 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    ”The nicest thing about the rain is that it always stops. Eventually.” – Eeyore

    Day 25 - Trabadelo to Las Herrerias - 10.5km

    Woke up to darker than average skies and a weather forcast the promised heavy rains all day. Oh yay…. I had decided to see how my ankles would hold up under my pack weight again since it was a shorter walking day. I was regretting that decision this morning, knowing I’d have to walk in the rain.

    As it was a short day, I was in no hurry to leave Casa Susi. I was able to help a bit with the pilgrim area by putting all the dishwasher load away and cleaning up after breakfast from the other pilgrims. It will be one less thing Susi and Fermin have to worry about when they get up.

    I was one of the last our the door and not until 8:40 am. Thankfully it was just overcast and no longer raining. I took advantage and motored along hoping it would stay only overcast. And it did, for the first 4+ km. Then it was drizzling and raining harder. I’d had the forethought to at least put my poncho on my waist strap so it was easy enough to get out and put on. As soon as I did though, it felt like an oven under the poncho. I was already hot from the faster than average walk, and the poncho made it worse. Luckily there was a town only a couple of km away, so I was able to stop for a tea and get the heck out of the poncho! When I was ready to get moving again, the rain had passed (for the time being) and I was able to make good headway again.

    Another day of walking along a winding country roadway, which isn’t ideal. But at least I am still by a river and the sound of running water is lovely. There are also a lot more farms with livestock, along this route. I took the time to watch the cows and sheep, and saw some birds dive bombing the calves in one field. Dell spite the drizzle, rai and cloud cover, it was at least a nice walk.

    Only 2km from my destination, it started pouring again. Back into the poncho only to walk 100ft and see a lovely cafe. I was going to pass it by but the breakfast menu caught my eye and, I was hours too early for check in at my next Albergue. So, I stopped again. What the heck - I have nothing but time today, so why not get out of the rain.

    I had a fabulous bacon and egg breakfast, hot tea, and sat chatting with other pilgrims for over an hour until the skies cleared. Off I went for the last 1.5km of the day, with a belly full of food and a determination not to put the stupid poncho on again.

    Soon enough I was at my Albergue and was able to wait in a dry (but cold) library until reception opened at 2pm. Happy to have a lower bunk again!! As usual, got to know the other pilgrims over a glass of wine. Spent some time planning my next stages and enjoyed another vegetarian pilgrim dinner. We were also treated to Alun for Wales who sang a Welsh hymn and Rushia from Poland who played the guitar that was in the Albergue dining room. Lovely evening all round!

    Hope the rain goes away over night so the trek up O Cebreiro tomorrow isn’t too bad!
    Read more