Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Day 32 - Hills, hills and more hills

    October 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    "I love walking because it clears your mind, enriches the soul, takes away stress, and opens up your eyes to a whole new world ." - Claudette Dudley

    Day 32 - Melide to Arzùa - 14.2 km - approx 3 3/4 hrs walking time

    A rainy day was forecast again, and it had been raining all night. By the time Annette came to my Albergue and we were ready to go, it was just about 8:40 am. Later than usual, but it was good timing. The rain had stopped and we stepped out to the smell of wet pavement and overcast skies. I have no problem with this! Much preferred to rain!

    As Annette called her husband in AUS, her pace got quicker and quicker while we were walking downhill. My poor little legs were struggling to keep up with her and I didn’t want to interrupt her call to tell her. She did notice after a bit, and we slowed down. Whew! There was no way I could keep that pace up!

    Within about 15 minutes, we had caught up to Lucinda who had apparently left earlier than us. We all walked happily together along tree lined dirt and stoney trails. Very little road walking today, which was lovely. There were a lot of hills though - not so lovely. I still hate the damn things! My recovery time is definitely better, but I’d prefer not to have to know that!!

    We stopped briefly at an organic stand and each bought a bottle of the woman’s homemade liquor. Raspberry for Lucinda and I, and coffee liquor for Annette. Going to be interesting! I think I will save it until Santiago as a celebratory tipple.

    After leaving the stand, we walked through some fragrant eucalyptus forest. It smelled SO good! Apparently the Ozzie’s have come and they are here to stay. Eucalyptus is apparently quite invasive - but it does smell good!

    We had a rest stop approx half way, and said hello to Elise who was resting at the same bar. This was the only time we saw her today as she walks faster than we do. Once tea and coffee’d up, we hit the road for the last half. We were thanking our lucky stars that the promised rain had not yet materialized. In fact, we started to see some blue skies that gave us hope for the rest of the walk.

    More uphills and downhills and uphills. I was so grateful it was a short day as the hills just make it seem so long!

    We arrived Arzúa at 1pm and each went our separate ways to our Albergues. Mine didn’t open until 1:30pm, so I hung around in order to get a good bed. When I had gotten my bed made, myself organized and hand washing done, Annette and I met for a pizza lunch and a couple of glasses of wine. I walked with her to her hotel as she was able to check in finally. Afterwards, I hit the grocery store to pick up a salad and some cold sliced chorizo for dinner. Also grabbed at bottle of wine for 2.40€. Crazy!! I have only had 1 glass and not sure what I will do with the rest. Thinking my empty water bottle is looking like a good candidate….

    Tomorrow is more hills all the way to O Pedrouzo. Annette and I have decided to walk together again, so I am going to go further than I had originally intended. The following day will be slightly shorter, then before I know it, I will be in Santiago de Compostela. As of today, I have less than 40km left. How is that even possible? I am still sad I needed to take a train to make my timeline (and now have extra time) but, it did take the pressure off me and allowed me to relax into this last third of my journey. They say the Camino doesn’t give you what you want, but what you need. Case in point, right here.

    Wish me luck on the horrid hills tomorrow!
    Read more