Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Day 41 - Foxy lady 🦊

    October 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    “We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.” – Winston Churchill

    Day 41 - Muxia to Morpeguite - by car

    Shockingly, it was raining again this morning. This did not stop me from walking along the front and down to the small beach at the harbour. I was determined to get my feet in the water today - and I did! I hung out watching a husband and wife raking for clams (and confirmed that was what they were looking for), and just took time to enjoy the drizzle and the (wet) sand under my toes.

    Some hot chocolate and churros helped to take the chill off my bones before venturing out again.

    As I mentioned yesterday, I wanted to go back to the Sanctuary de A Barca and have another look at those rocks that the Virgin came to Muxia in as a stone boat. As I got up the hill, the sun came out and remained shining most of the rest of the morning.

    Unfortunately, I couldn’t get high enough to actually make the specific stones out. I also could not find the Fonte de Pel where the sick came to wash before going to A Barca. I did however get up to the lookout point, and it was worth every step. Absolutely amazing 360 degree views! Over the sea, A Barca and the lighthouse, the harbour and the town. Incredible. I took a bunch of photos (too many as usual) and a video or three while standing there in the wind, on the highest point of the area.

    Back to town to collect my backpack and head to the grocery store. I wanted to grab a few things to bring home that are a lot less expensive here than there - specifically saffron and sea salt flakes. Both specialty items at home that cost a bomb. I also grabbed a few things for when at The Little Fox House that I had been craving.

    I headed over to Tracy’s shop in town so I could catch a lift back to the house with her, saving me the trouble of a bus ride.

    The Little Fox House is a donativo (by donation only) post-Camino pilgrim retreat. A place to relax, reflect and process your Camino journey before moving on - either home or with other parts of your journey. Tracy Saunders - the owner - is a retired psychoanalyst and and practitioner of clinical hypnosis. She is also a writer with about 10 books under her belt, including a couple of best-sellers. In addition to running The Little Fox House, Tracy also has a shop in Muxia called Celtic, Wicca & Bling. Very cool little shop! Tonight there is only one guest (from Kentucky) but she leaves tomorrow as does Tracy for her long weekend in Malaga with her family. Hence my volunteer duties. I am in charge of the house, feeding pilgrims, cleaning house and changing beds, cat mum to Tracy’s 4 furry friends and all-round house sitter. There may be other pilgrims coming in, but at this time, none are booked (one just cancelled). It’s unusual for the rooms not to be booked, as it is a popular stop for pilgrims after their Camino or, those enroute to Muxia or Finesterre. There is a 2 night minimum and a 4 night maximum stay.

    The three of us had a lovely dinner, good wine and good company. All is ready for me to take over, tomorrow.
    Read more