Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3 - Reethi Faru Eco Luxury Reaort

    November 3, 2022 on the Maldives ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Today we actually made it to breakfast 😂. Kat had a scuba dive check in to ensure she knew her skills, so wanted to have a light breakfast first. Since we didn’t plan to eat again until dinner (after yesterday’s lunch fiasco!!) I too decided to eat. Once Kat was on her way with the instructor and other diver, I hung out at the infinity pool. Beautiful views!!

    After the dive, Kat came and found me and we headed back to our room to collect beach stuff. The dive was “ok” but nothing to write home about. The visibility was better yesterday on our snorkel than today in the dive. She did see a sting ray, plenty of starfish and a cool sea anemone that she was allowed to touch (you are not generally allowed to touch anything underwater!). She is unsure if she will even bother with another dive or not. We did sign up for a manga ray snorkel tour, but that’s not til Sunday.

    We headed to the beach for another relaxing day. Honestly, it was pretty perfect. Sun and cloud, but with a breeze and lots of sunscreen. We read our books, cooled down in the ocean, read and dozed, and went snorkelling. We wanted to go the other way to the way we yesterday. Kat went out to the drop off and followed it along to near the boat launch pier, then walked back. I left after she did and went to the drop off as well, snorkelled along for a bit and then back, before walking down the beach to meet her. For some reason, I am having an issue with getting too close to the coral, and snorkelling on my own. And this is so not like me. Normally I am first one in the water and will snorkel for hours. Not sure why I am getting myself so worked up but I hope it goes away as it’s crimping my style!! Totally forgot to go get my bp checked again, but that’s ok. I’m not really bothered about diving anyway. Thinking those days are over if I can’t even be comfortable snorkelling for heavens sake!!!

    After the beach we came back to shower and change for our “romantic” sunset cruise. As we were still early, we paid a visit to Vinnie at the gin bar for a couple of drinks before the trip. I mean half price, right?!

    The boat trip was lovely. To start with. We were able to sit on the roof of the boat, chat and watch the islands go by. Then it started to spit. Then rain. Then the heavens opened and it poured down. We ended up back at the dock 20mins earlier than we were supposed to. The only benefit was the stunning sunset photos we got (rain had stopped).

    Headed back for another gin while we waited for the buffet to open at 7:30pm and then went to dinner. It was Italian night and I have to say, they do local better than Italian. It was still good, but night 1 is still our favourite.

    Long day of doing pretty much bugger all, and we are both exhausted! Time for an early night so we can get up and repeat our lazy day tomorrow!! Loving this trip so far. Just what was needed!
    Read more