Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Pamplona to Puente la Reina

    April 28, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Hey everyone! Thank you again for dropping by. I left Pamplona this morning around 8am with a group of people from last night. It didn’t take long to get separated however, as everyone walks at their own pace. I ended up walking the first few hours by myself and managed to lose my walking stick when I stopped to get a water refill and got distracted by a dog and left my stick. I didn’t realize it until a half hour later and I wasn’t going back to get it. Ugh. But, I am fine without it and it was always in the way when I was taking photos anyway. I stopped the small town of Zariquiegui which is the home of Iglesia de San Andres which is a 13th century church of which I have included photos of. And, it was in a scene of “The Way” ....a movie starring Martin Sheen about this trip. I ran into Elaine (Phoenix) and Anastasia (the young Russian girl). We got some lunch at a local cafe here...Coffe con leche’, orange juice and a banana for me. We climbed the Alto de Perdon which is at the top of a mountain with the wind turbines....which was a real bitch while humping a pack. And as much of a bitch going down the other side. I also ran into a girl that I met in Zubiri...a police officer from Brisbane Australia who has a thick accent much like Crocidle Dundee. I was looking down, fixing my pack when I heard “ Oh look....it’s my American paramedic friend”. She gave me some chocolate for energy for the trip over the top of the mountain...hikers are so good to each other on this trip. I lost touch with them all by early afternoon and met up with a young Italian guy who was struggling with a shin splint so we walked slowly...as I was hurting as well... for the last few miles into Puente la Reina. I am at an albergue tonight on the edge of town located at the top of a huge hill...just what I needed at the end of a long day...but it is $14.50 for the night...cheap enough for a bed and a shower, oh and a little bar. The place is a 100 bed albergue. I arrived at 5 pm and I was placed in a 4 bed room with Anastasia and Elaine...completely by chance....go figure! We lose Anastasia tomorrow as she is going further than the rest of us...the way it is on the trail. That’s it for now...hope everyone is well!Read more