Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    The theft

    December 18, 2017 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    It was on the way to the Hertz and Europcar that Hristo decided to stop over at one of the Peruvian restaurant to eat Ceviche. While he was eating, we sat down to give him company.
    We were inside the restaurant at a closed corner with only our table a table for 2 just next to us. After a while, 2 people came and sat on the table next to us. We continued with our talk. In the meantime, they asked for the menu and talked to the waitresses. After a while, they got up amd went away. A few seconds later one of the waitress ran out and asked us of one of us lost a bag. It took us a while to figure out what she was saying in Spanish. I realized my bag was missing. Hristo and I, immediately ran out but couldn't see anyone with the bag. We reached a crossroad. Hristo took one way while I ran the other. I heard someone calling from behind and pointing to the lane of the cars on the opposite side of the street. I looked at him and he continued shouting in Spanish. I thought he was pointing to the bag, hoping that whoever took it threw it knowing that we were out very quickly. By the time I figured the guy was pointing to a car where he had seen the 2 guys enter with my bag, the light turned green and the cars drove off. 😐
    In the meantime, the waitress at the restaurant had called the police. I immediately blocked all my cards that I had in the bag. They came within minutes and took our statements and those of the waitresses. After that, we were taken to the police station to get a proof of case registration and were asked to pick up the report from a separate police station in 4 days.
    After that, we went to the Swedish embassy about 1. 5 km away. It was 4 pm and they were about to close. They immediately took up my case and I was able to call my travel insurance company to provide the embassy with a guarantee of payment. They were also able to provide me with a document to apply for my driving license.
    After filling in the forms for the passport, I was asked to return the next morning at 9 am for the biometric for the passport. After that we went around to find a place to get a picture for the driving license, but all the shops were closed by now.
    We walked the 6 kms back to the hotel and stopped at a mall nearby to have our dinner at an Indian restaurant (Pardesi Tadka) in the food court. The food was quite good. After that we came back to the hotel to sleep.
    Read more