Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 109

    Off to Santiago

    January 16, 2018, South Pacific Ocean ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    At the airport, I ran to the bag drop counter since I didn't have a passport so I knew it would take some time and the departure was in an hour. At the counter, I told them about the theft in Santiago and showed them my police report and a paper copy of my previous passport. After a few minutes of consultation with the superiors, I was cleared for take off. I got my ticket and was checked in. At 4 pm we took off as per schedule.
    It was a clear day and we could see the beautiful views below. We passed many of the beautiful places we had visited during our road trip in the last few days.
    The 1st sight was that of Cerro Cincaho where we had walked so many kms the day before. Then came the fjords between Chaiten and Hornopiren. Then the iconic Osorno volcano near the Llanquihue lake. Just North of Osorno were the lakes of Puyehue and Rupanco.
    Read more