Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Cusco

    April 28, 2021 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Finally touching down in Cusco after barely getting any sleep from the whacky flight schedules. I arrived during the wee hours at Lima airport and tried to get what rest I could while waiting for the connecting flight to Cusco. Immediately, I could feel the change in the oxygen levels and found my heart to be beating faster and taking longer breaths. I went to the bathroom first thing and then out the airport lobby to look for a money exchanger but they were all still closed. Luckily there was a taxi driver who accepted dollars and it wasn’t really that expensive too. He took me to my hostel in Collacalle, called Hawka Inca Hostal. On the way, I was able to see Cusco and its surroundings and immediately fell in love with the city. Surrounded by mountains and Incan architecture, cobbled streets with traces from its Spanish colonial past, all blending into the quintessential Peruvian must-visit city, what a sight and place to be. It felt so surreal to be actually this far out in the world, all the way in South America in one of the most exotic hotspots, I felt a strong sense of achievement and gratitude and tremendous excitement for the adventures ahead.

    I checked in my hostel with a kind lady, the room was amazing. Bigger and better than any hotel I’ve stayed in Japan but a hundred times cheaper with free breakfast and my own bathroom, what more can I ask for? I tried not to strain myself too hard or else I would find myself winded, even the stairs were a chore. I took a shower and went to the Healing Tree Center to meet Andres. They were going to do a check-up for me to measure if I am ready to take Ayahuasca the next day, I also had to drink volcanic water. It was a bit hard to find where they were located but their office was very spiritual, carrying images of Jesus Christ, a statue of Ganesha and Buddha, a mix of all cultures. I had to drink several jugs of volcanic water for a full body detox. It didn’t taste good nor did it taste bad, the taste of minerals was definitely there. After a few cups, I was off to the bathroom to “detox” and this went on for several times until I was free to go. I walked out with Andres where he showed me a bit more of the town, took me to a place where I can exchange money and left me somewhere in the central part of town as we had to part ways.

    I started going around town and found myself in the town square where a statue towered in the center, all around the square were magnificent churches and restaurants, and behind them were mountains with houses lining up its base, crawling upwards. The weather was fairly chilly, I found refuge in a traditional Peruvian restaurant. My search for the restaurant took me to the various corners of Cusco, getting aerial views and going through tight alleys, it was so fun to just get lost. The food was amazing, cheap and very filling. I found a vendor to buy tissue paper from, it was so dirt cheap I just gave her more money as I don’t think she will be earning much with the drop in tourists in Cusco. She was grateful and advised me not to put my wallet in the front pocket of my bag, that was very kind of her. I was also approached by some street peddlers selling paintings, being the softie that I am, I ended up buying from both of them at a price I think was quite marked-up but I believed they needed the money more. I got back to my place to rest but was surprised that I was still full, just a couple of bananas were enough.
    Read more