Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Granon to Atapuerca

    September 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I got 9 hours of sleep. Even rode up the steep hills. Riding is so different from walking. It's not the same experience on the Camino, but it's the experience I can get and it's sure better than taking the bus.

    I meet the 80 year old lady from Maui again. She is the light of the Camino, she radiates and glows of happiness.

    I run into Mike from Germany my bunk mate at Roncesvalle. He's doing well with a big day yesterday and a shorter one today. I pass many walking pilgrims on my bike and that makes my trip feel weird.

    I was going to go to Burgos, but I ran into Eric whom I met on the train the first day. He has been well on track and with my offset schedule I got behind him. Now I ride slowly next to him and the conversation starts. We find out about the best water in the region and Eric almost takes a ride on a wheelbarrow. When he gets to his destination in Atapuerca I decide to stay there as well. Good move. We had a great bunch of conversations. A fun filled evening.
    Read more