Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    To the coast - slowly

    September 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    On the other side of Santiago things change a little bit. People don't really say buen camino they just say hola.

    My own vibe is also more subdued. I set of early again, it's what I'm used to. It wasn't really all that cold but super wet and I soon needed time in a cafe where a young Czech explained the Primitivo to me, she had just walked it and the Norte. Being wet and chilled already, I'm not sure anymore that would be such a great plan. The beach keeps sounding better all the time.

    I roll on, mellow and in thought, no zen. Wondering if I should have taken more time instead of gunning for a second Camino. Next to me I hear Dutch and I strike up a conversation with them. They stop in Olveiroa only 6km away. I could ride longer but I'd rather have a nice dinner conversation. It turns out to be a cool little village and a great dinner.

    I have from now until October 6 to get my shin to heal, so going to slow down, see if I can hook up with some of my Camino friends at some point.
    Read more