Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Azores Terceira

    October 7, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Sleeping in the Porto and Lisbon airports actually worked out quite well since I had some gear. The free lounge upgrade provides a sweet treat on my long layover.

    Two flights with window seats and a rental car at the end made for a break from the bicycle routine. It's not the Camino anymore.

    On Terceira,Angra do Heroismo is a city protected by UNESCO as a heritage site. I park and start walking towards the fort and the trail that leads to the view points. I'm in the middle of the Atlantic on a volcanic rock. A trail running race is being held and I see people finishing a 35km run muddied all over, apparently not an easy race at all. It reminds me of the times I've done long distance trail runs and I wish I was still in shape for this.

    I try to catch a sunset on the west coast and find a billboard on the way telling me there is a jazz concert tonight. I get tickets and stay in town for a mountain cheese sandwich that was delicious. The jazz concert is advanced new jazz pieces. Drum, bass, piano and sax. Top notch.

    I drive to the hostel to finally get some sleep. I've been short the last few nights and I want to hike tomorrow. But there are a lot of young people in the road obviously going to a party. I hear music. The fences block me from following Betty's directions. I go around and park. As I walk up to the hostel I hear the band and it's live, 80's cover, and it's good. The stage is set up right in front of the hostel and the front deck is the perfect vantage point to see the show. Guess who is not got to sleep yet? After the incredible act fireworks break lose, what a party!
    Read more