Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Terceira hike

    October 8, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Woke up a bit late. Slept well. Got going right away to the center of the island where the hikes are. I thought I would be on single track trails but it turns out parts of the trail are on the road. I managed to stratigically park and pick shorter trails to spare the shin that is not healing yet. The fog hangs overhead and the fumaroles are smoking, it's 130 celcius just two feet below the surface. I have the place to myself. In some places the crust of the earth is so thin, it feels like the lava could be just under your feet.

    Drove around and to the next spot. The trail is awesome, skinny, rutted and the trees are covered with moss. Yesterday's running race went through here.

    Off to the airport again. Yesterday I decided to cut Terceira short in favor of Flores. I get to fly the Q400 twin turbo prop. What a plane! Short take off and smooth.

    Flores is something else, the flora is luxuriant and exotic. The volcanic landscape is vertical rock along the coast.

    Late solo dinner, meat and potatoes land, veggies are hard to come by, Oliver would love it.
    Read more