Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5–8

    South end Flores

    October 11, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Breakfast of champions and drive towards the south, got lost again and found a nice farmers field that I explored. A hot spring apparently exist at the end of a 1600 meter trail that ends in a rock climbing session to reach the pool. I didn't go for it.

    The wind is absolutely howling and the Atlantic is whipped into a frenzy of white caps. It's a sight to behold. I love this kind of weather. It was supposed to rain all day but the sun is shining warmly. I drop into the steep descent of rocky single track all the way to sea level. At the end is a secluded beach and at the end of the beach are a few house sized boulders sitting in the surf getting pummeled by the eternal swells. I could sit there for hours and so I do. The luxury of time. It's a South facing beach and what is the first land mass from here? Antarctica!

    Back at the hostel energy is low, it's just a feeling. I head back out and go bouldering to another giant waterfall. This one has a head wind and the falling water is swept sideways and back up. Stunning and mesmerizing.

    A French woman arrived at the hostel, she is excited and her mood lifts up the entire energy field of the place. That's more like it.
    Read more