Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3–7

    Around the Pink House

    October 9, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 20 °C

    I'm getting settled in here. The pink house hostel has a few residents from USA and Spain, they are millennials and they work from the road via their PCs and the internet. I update Facebook for the first time in a month. The Camino is done and it is time to gently slide back into life even if I'm still on the road. Actually I will continue to be on the road from here with home breaks.

    I go to the coast which is all lava rock and watch the breakers beat up the rough black land. I hang here for a few hours watching the spectacle. I mosy on over to the waterfall not too far away and stay there for an hour as well, I'm solo, no tourists so it is a peaceful time and it is drop dead gorgeous on Flores with sun, wind, squalls all taking turns.

    I have too many pictures to post today... I tease my friends online with a few.

    I drive to the Helios store and stock up on 4 days worth of vegetables and other healthy items. Finally time to recuperate.

    Back in the hostel I talk to Alfredo who walked 27km out and back along the northern trail and Madison from Canada who sounds like a valley girl. Helena from the Pyrenees is a patient conversationalist as we switch back and forth between Spanish and English to get our points across. Devon has been working on his PC all day making sales calls. I'm happy to be here for a bunch of days.
    Read more