Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Corvo Island

    October 14, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Woke up intending to walk the trail behind the pink house, but a group was excitedly going to Corvo with great weather. I switched my plan in a nano second and was on my way to join them. Irene (Dutch), Annaelle (French) and the Spanish couple.

    The boat ride starts with an astonishing ride in and out of the coastal bays, in and out of grottoes and under waterfalls. This alone was worth the price of admission and the weather is perfect for it. We start crossing the straight between Flores and Corvo. It's further than you think.

    A shuttle took us up to the top from where you can hike straight into the enormous crater of this extinct volcano. It's absolutely huge. We're told it is possible to hike to the rim as well. I set off fairly fast despite a total lack of sleep. It's just too stunning.

    On the other side of the crater, I think it is a good spot to start going to the ridge. As I climb to the top I almost trip as the earth just disappears from under me at the edge. A cliff of 480 meters drops vertically into the sea. It's jaw dropping, even after seeing so many amazing sights in the last week here is yet another scene that can't even be imagined and it's superlative. Pictures can never do it justice.

    Annaelle is coming up behind me and the Spanish couple too, I wait for them while devouring a fantastic lunch of veggies, eggs, cheese and sauerkraut mixed up by the wavy seas. The couple needs to get down to catch the shuttle, while Annaelle and I continue navigating along the rim trail, thinking we have plenty of time as we're planning to walk down to catch the boat on time.

    We met some French guys and compare plans and hear how long it took them and we decide to take a faster route. Good call as it turns out we catch the same van to return into town as all the others. I'm pooped and that saved my shin.
    Read more