Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Discover São Miguel

    October 18, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 21 °C

    Somebody is yelling in Portuguese in the hostel at 6am, I stick my head out to see. It's Tiago who happened to stay in the bunk next to mine. He had come in at 2 am and woke up too late for his flight. After all his worrying about getting stuck on Flores he partyed his flight away. I feel for him.

    I walk to the airport to go get the car, I hope they are open. A nice Peugeot 2008 awaits me. Off to Sete Cicades, it's overcast, the impressive imploded volcano crater is huge, only 36,000 years old. I take the trail along the lake and run into downed trees and the walk becomes sporty. Just the way I like it.

    This is a big island, I explore Mosteiros by the coast. I can always sit and watch waves crash ashore. It never gets old. Then to Furnas, where the hot baths are. I have a zero percent beer sitting in a wall in the last sunshine warming up.

    The bath at Poca Da Dona Bejia is exactly what my body needs after two months of hard exercise. I enjoy the hard pummeling of falling water and the sulphuric healing. I truly come out a renewed body.

    Back in PDL I stand in a long line for a for truck kebab that I enjoy with my beer.
    Read more