Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Travel try again

    October 17, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I get up to go for a run along the coastal road in town and explore the old whaling harbor. The sun rise is fantastic and run into Tiago and Alfredo as they go to breakfast. I have a couple of coffees and the vibration is a bit classic with the local guy who is very forward.

    It's the waiting game with SATA now. Tiago leaves at 1240, Alfredo and I at 1545 but all flights incur huge delays. Alfredo and I go for a long walk on a back road. Not to great for the shin actually. I shower at the piscina naruturais another coffee and we wait some more at the airport. They say if you come to Flores for three days you might have to stay for a week. But that is a good thing because Flores is fantastic. It's my favorite island in the Azores.

    Last minute I decide to change to the direct flight to PDL. I wait to get a car rental. I had a mess renting through carjet and cancelled without refund. Yuk. I'll get one once I land. That back fires and there are no cars, except at the closed counter. I catch a taxi courtesy of the cancelled Boston flight guys who have a voucher. In search of wifi I stop for dinner and get a treat, seared tuna and it's delicious. It took two full days to get to PDL.
    Read more