Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day 8 Roof done

    December 16, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Today will be the day that I get all of the framing done on the roof. I finally have all the pieces that I need. And indeed, I get all of the sheets on the spacers and the second layer of sheets on top, it actually feels pretty sturdy now.

    The first thing in the day I took care off is the hinge which was a three-part beam system with hinges in between that required putting it all together in a very specific sequence otherwise it wouldn't work. I had to put the through bolts in from the back side of the third board and slide the entire roof on to the screws and bolt it together, then I could nail it for additional strength. At some point I will be happy that I did this but right now it took an extra 2 days in the timeline.

    At the end of the day I cleaned up everything and I set up the new shower system and took a shower in the corner using the drain. It's a lot warmer to do it this way.

    Then I sat upstairs working on some texts connecting with people. And it was amazing just how toasty it is even with the garage door still missing.

    The space is totally adequate for one person to be able to hang out , sleep, make food and take care of hygiene. Therefore it is a perfectly adequate tiny home even though it is still under 200 ft² and therefore is disqualified as such. It is amazing that people have to limit things in order to make sense of it. Wouldn't it make more sense to just leave the rules wide open and let people decide for themselves how they want to do it? To each his own creativity.
    Read more