Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Stuck in the sand

    April 19, 2022 in Oman ⋅ ☀️ 100 °F

    Only had a few days left and didn't want to waste a day, so I decided to go to the dunes by myself. Drove 2 hours, got to the edge, and decided to see how close I could get. I know you can't drive a sedan in the dunes, but there was a road that seemed fine. Went up it, didn't realize how much sand was on the road, decided to turn around and right as I did, got stuck in the sand. Called Anika who called her local friend Khalil and he called the police who then came to rescue me. Luckily it worked out. Really appreciate the kindness of Khalil who even met up with me after my 2 hour drive back to make sure my car was all in order. The sand was ominous especially with the sand storm that seemed to be coming in. Gave up on seeing the desert or Wadi Bani Khalid. Not everyday is a good day, but was made better by meeting a new friend and seeing the kindness of strangers.Read more