Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 3 of Quarantine

    March 22, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    After arriving home two days ago, I am finally starting to feel a little human again. Maggie and I made the decision to live in separate homes for at least the next two weeks. That means I am rattling about in this big place by myself. It is amazing how much we all crave human interaction. We were meant to be social animals and it is difficult to live without human contact.

    Although the next two weeks will be quiet and slow, I think it is a trivial price to pay if it slows the spread of this cursed virus. The best way to put out a fire is to starve it of oxygen and the best way to slow the spread of an infection is to starve it of the means of transmission.

    I think that this is something we can beat, but it will require discipline and sacrifices from us all. It is not as if we are in danger of being blown to pieces by falling bombs, like they were in the war. We are comfortable in our homes, we have mobile phones and the Internet to keep us connected. If everyone thinks more of their neighbours and less of themselves, we can get through.

    As far as I am concerned, I am feeling fine with no sign of fever or cough. I have an adequate supply of food and plenty of books to read and videos to watch. Two weeks is really not that long. The strangest thing is the silence. I just cannot hear anything at all. In some ways I feel like the last person on earth. Strange times indeed.
    Read more