Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 4 of Quarantine

    March 23, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    It's been a lifetime since I last posted any "footprints", so I thought that I will start now to fill in the blanks of what has been happening over the past few days. I thought I would first do today's entry and then progressively work back to fill in the story of what has happened since I left Cuba.

    In case you did not already know, I am now safely back home in Melbourne and now undergoing my period of compulsory self isolation. According to my count I am now up to day 4 of 14. I have a reasonable supply of necessary items, so I am not starving. Maggie even left me a new digital thermometer to check my temperature. If the technology is reliable, I can tell you my current temperature is 36.6 C - low enought to give me the green light on the thermometer.

    I can also tell you that I am feeling fine. Even my sleeping patterns are not as disrupted as they normally are after returning from the other side of the planet. According the scales I have also dropped 5 kg since leaving Australia. I am not sure if that is due to the cycling or the stress, but I am actually the lightest I have been for some time.

    One thing that is quite eerie is the deathly silence outside. Not a single car has driven past my home this morning. The park opposite is deserted. I cannot hear even the distant sound of traffic on Princes Highway. Either I have lost my hearing or no one is moving anywhere.

    It may be some time before we will be able to resume the shared activities that are so precious to us, however we still have the Internet and mobile phones to keep in touch. I am sure that we will all crave human interaction more than ever, so please call your families and daily let them know how important they are.

    I just heard this morning that another batch of the Cuba team arrived back in Melbourne. According to my calculations that means that only one person is still making their way home. That is a remarkable result under the circumstances, especially considering the dire straights that some other Australians have now found themselves in dozens of countries around the world.

    Stay safe.
    Read more