Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Day 6 in Quarantine

    March 25, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I am starting to understand what solitary confinement feels like. It is hard to understand how much we need other human contact, until we no longer have it. For me the strangest sensation is the silence. I am normally surrounded by a constant background noise of cars passing, children in the park, dogs barking, etc that it seems so weird when they are all removed at once.

    At least I am up to day 6 of my quarantine and all is well on the health front. My temperature is still normal and I feel fine. The unexpected side benefit is that I have lost a few kg. It's not the way I would have liked, but heck, I need every win I can get at the moment.

    Today I have regressed about 35 years to my earlier occupation of school teacher. Since my grandchildren are home from school, I thought that I would prepare a few Science lessons for them to work through. It's been more of a challenge than I thought as I have had to wind back the memory so far. Even so I am happy with the finished product and it is looking like they might get passed on to some other kids as well.

    I had to be reminded that we are still in daylight savings. I had completely forgotten all about it. I guess there is so much other stuff rolling around in our heads at the current time that I can hardly remember what month it is, let alone know whether we are still in daylight savings time.

    Today I did have one great piece of news. All 16 members of our 2020 Cuba Adventure are now "safely" back in Australia and have entered their time of self isolation. It was a disappointment that the trip had to be ended prematurely as it really was going sensationally well up to that point, but that was the only option open to us. Cuba has already closed its borders, like just about every other country.

    The consequences of such a shutdown are going to be devastating, especially for anyone involved in the travel industry. In many countries tourism is one of the main sources of income, and without this income the people will suffer enormously.

    I am also enormously grateful for Lothar and Celia who have very kindly dropped off some survival groceries for me. It was an act of love that was very much appreciated.
    Read more