Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Day 7 of Quarantine

    March 26, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Life seems to have adopted a new pattern for me. I am now almost half way through my compulsory self isolation and I can now make a few observations of how I have been spending my time.

    Television - almost zero. In fact I think I have only turned the TV on a couple of times in the past week.
    Streaming videos on my computer - I have watched a few episodes of "The Office", but that's all. The nonsensical nature of the characters in The Office seems like a good counterfoil to all the doom and gloom elsewhere.
    Talking on the phone - probably several hours each day. I have had a large number of calls, some of them from people I have not spoken to in years, and it has been a great way to renew and strengthen friendships.
    Answering emails - I have been trying to keep up to date with answering every email message I have been sent. This can take quite a while.
    Video Conferencing - this is a new skill for me, but I have been developing my use of various video conferencing apps, including WhatsApp, Hangouts and Google Meet. We are all busy working out the platform that operates best and practical matters such as reducing background noise. I suspect we will all be using these a lot more in the weeks ahead.

    I can happily report that I am still OK, with no sign of a temperature, so that's good.

    At 6 pm there was a knock on my door. When I got there I found a delivery had been left on the doorsptep. It was an UberEats delivery of hot food. It had been ordered by my kids and it was a wonderful gift. I can assure you that it was so much appreciated.

    Tomorrow I reach the half way point of my self isolation. I am so looking forward to being able to go on walks and bike rides again.
    Read more