Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 5 of Quarantine

    March 24, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    I am starting to feel that I am in solitary confinement. I had not realised how much we rely on talking and personal interaction to make our lives meaningful. I awoke to another day in a quiet, empty house and knew that the time would pass slowly.

    The thing that I find the most strange is the complete absence of noise. I suppose I have become conditioned to the constant background noise of someone else moving and talking in the home. The dog quickly tells us whenever anyone walks past in the street, and there is always the subdued sounds of distant traffic on nearby roads. All that seems to have stopped. Apart from the birds singing, there is almost complete and utter silence and I am having trouble coping with it.

    On the positive side, I am feeling fine. The thermometer tells me that I have a temperature of 36.5 C, which is quite normal. I am not sure how many more days I need to go before I can start to feel confident that I did not pick up the virus on the plane. In the meantime I am working my way through a succession of canned food. I have no idea why I ever bought tins of sardines in tomato sauce, and now I know that I will never, ever buy them again.

    I suppose this is an excellent chance for me to rearrange that messy sock drawer. I will let you know if I ever really get around to it.
    Read more