Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 29

    Day 11 of Quarantine

    30 mars 2020, Australie ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Many years ago I remember that there was a novelty that was intended as a gift for wives to give to their husbands. It took the form of a flat disc with a hole in the middle. Boldly printed on each side was the word "TUIT".

    In case you are feeling a little confused, a bit more explanation might be in order. The idea was that when wives ask their husbands when they will be attending to certain items of home maintenance and the like, their answer is invariably they will do it "when they get around to it". So there you have it. If you give them a "round tuit" they will have no excuse for delaying the job any longer.

    With so many people now confined to home for an indefinite period of time, maybe now would be the perfect time to hand out the "round tuits". While many businesses (cafes, coffee shops, travel companies, retail, etc) are suffering badly, shops like Bunnings and Mitre 10 are doing a roaring trade. The supermarkets are struggling to employ extra staff to meet the demand. On a darker side, apparently the gun shops in the USA are also seeing record sales of firearms and weapons. Sad but true.

    This morning I had a small degree of excitement when there was a knock on my door from the Woolworths on line delivery man. Because I am currently in home detention, I am apparently a "priority" customer. That means I belong to one of the privileged groups of people who can have the groceries home delivered (for a fee of course).

    I have to admit that it was kind of like Christmas when I got the packages, especially since I had largely forgotten what I had ordered. I never received any of those Crisco Christmas hampers, but now I can understand a little of what it must be like.

    With the spirit of the "round tuit" in mind, this morning I attended to a vital chore that I had been joking about for days. I finally reorganised my sock drawer ! Out went all the ones with dodgy heels, the inevitable few odd ones that had no partners and a few that were not worth keeping. All the rest were paired up and packed away. Job done. Nobody can say that the day was wasted.

    I also took some time to catch up on the latest round of restrictions. It is hard to believe that we can no longer even ride with a friend. All rides must now be solo or with others who live at the same address. This is another sad reminder of how much everything has changed in such a short time.

    Tonight I will be enjoying the first piece of steak that I have had since leaving Australia at the start of the month. I can't wait.
    En savoir plus