Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 34

    The Rains Came

    4 april 2020, Australië ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    It was great while it lasted. We all love those beautiful lingering warm and sunny days that are inclined to tease us that winter is not really on its way. These sequences of late warm days used to be called "Indian Summers". I don't know if that term is used any more, but whatever we wish to call it, our run of glorious weather came to a sudden halt late yesterday.

    Sometime after nightfall the wind picked up, the temperature dropped and the rain started. I went to bed relatively early, with the lovely sound of heavy rain on my iron roof. I awoke a couple of times during the night and each time the rain was still falling steadily. It was still falling when I awoke at 6.30 am this morning.

    Today was my second day of comparative freedom, however there was no way I was going to be able to enjoy a bike ride in this weather. I decided to go on a short drive around my neighbourhood instead. The car had only been driven once in the past five weeks and I was getting worried about the state of the battery.

    As I headed off down the hill, the first thing I noticed was how wet everything was. It was obvious that a LOT of rain had fallen during the night. Our lake had risen markedly and a lot of surface water was lying around the lower areas.

    There has been a major level crossing removal project taking place on Cardinia Rd and it was interesting to see how much progress had been made in the past month. Three large concrete bridge supports have now grown where there was previously just level ground. Work had also started on a new high school building in Henry Rd. I was surprised to see so many tradies in their high vis gear working on a Saturday.

    After driving around for some time, I found a nice place to park and resumed work on a crossword that I had been battling with. I figured that, as long as I did not leave the car, I was not in danger of inadvertently breathing in a virus particle.

    Tonight marks the end of daylight saving for this season. I usually get a little excited at the prospect of an extra hour's sleep, however it all seems a little meaningless in the current lockdown. Time has lost its relevance in most respects.

    I could also mention one other event that took place this morning. At 9.00 am I had a ring on the doorbell that signified my second delivery from Woolworths on line. I never thought that I would get excited over a delivery of groceries, but somehow it felt like Christmas, especially when I had forgotten exactly what I ordered. With apologies to Forrest Gump, I think that a bunch of Woolworths delivery bags is just like a box of chocolates - you never know what you are going to find inside. And guess what ? I even found a chocolate bar in one of the bags !
    Meer informatie