Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Kunming Free Day

    April 1, 2006 in China ⋅ 17 °C

    When I arrived at Kunming Airport, I started to chat with a young local girl who happened to speak quite reasonable English. I asked her, if there was only one thing in Kunming that we should see, what would it be ? Her answer was "Western Mountain". I had no idea what that was, but I decided that we should check it out for ourselves.

    On our free day in Kunming we found ourselves squashed in our minibus and weaving through the streets to Western Mountain. We certainly were not disappointed with what we found there. The whole complex is carved into an almost vertical cliff face, offering panoramic views down to the city. From time to time the path emerged onto tiny viewing platforms, precariously situated hundreds of metres above the valley floor.

    It turned into a magical day. Tomorrow we head out of Kunming and to the town of LiJiang, the start of our cycling.
    Read more