Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Goodbye Olympia, Hello Saarburg

    September 16, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    After our week of exploring the bike/barge along the Moselle, it was time to get off the Olympia and make our way to our hotel. It was an early 5.30 am wake up, followed by breakfast at 6.30 am. Our bags were packed (ie crammed) and offloaded from the boat at 7.30 am.

    The Hotel Am Markt was a short distance away from the dock, so I grabbed the handles of both our suitcases and started walking. I had not gone far before I felt an unfamiliar weight in my pocket. I wondered what it was. It was the key to our cabin !

    I immediately Uturned and walked back to the boat where I was met by the scowling steward. They had already realised that I was about to abscond with the key (and probably incur a huge penalty fine in the process).

    With the great key scandal thus averted, I was able to complete the easy walk to the hotel and drop the bags in. The rest of the day was free to explore.

    Saarburg is a most pleasant small town, centred on a scenic canal. During the day the area near the canal is packed with tourists, but after dark it is very peaceful.

    The major landmarks of the city are the elevated Saarburg Castle and the Reformed Church, both of which are situated high above the town. We made the strenuous climb up to the top of the tower to look down on the village and the river from this vantage point. It was well worth the effort.
    Read more