Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76

    An Unwanted Postcript

    November 1, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Everyone accepts that it is normal to experience jetlag after returning home from Europe. That feeling of lethargy and disturbed sleep can continue for a week or more after returning home. And that is why I did not worry too much when I started to feel unwell.

    It all started on Sunday evening. At first I found that I could not get warm. My legs started to ache and my body was shaking. Now that was something new. The only way that I could escape the chills was to retreat to bed and hide under the doona. Maybe it would all be better in the morning.

    After a very disturbed sleep, I actually felt worse in the morning. It was then that another thought started to occur to me. Was it possible that I had caught the dreaded Covid 19? Although I had somehow managed to dodge it for the past three years, I knew that sooner or later, it would probably catch up with me.

    It was time to unbox my last remaining RAT test package and see what it told me. It did not take long. Although you are meant to wait 15 minutes before examining the test tile, the result was clearly evident within 2 minutes. I had joined the Covid Club.

    I was instructed to call the nearest respiratory clinic for advice. After answering a few questions, I was issued with an electronic script for anti-viral medication. This was forwarded to the local chemist, and a couple of hours later, the medication was delivered to my doorstep.

    The next five days were a bit of a blur. Apart from a fever, the other symptoms were a cough, sore throat and extreme lack of energy. At least I could be grateful that it did not happen while I was still travelling. If I had to suffer, there was no better place to do it than in my own home.

    Five days after the first RAT test, I decided to try it again. The result was still a strong positive. That meant a few more days in isolation, but at least I was starting to regain some of my energy again.

    A couple of days later, another RAT test finally showed the result I was hoping. There was no sign of the dreaded line. I was no longer Covid positive.

    The following day I ventured out of the house for one of my favourite walks. Although I was more fatigued than usual, it was a great feeling to be returning to normality. It will still be a few more days before I have the stamina to resume riding, but at least I think the worst is now clearly behind me.
    Read more