Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    ... in Weston

    February 14, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    February 14 - 20th

    My next destination was the Vacation Village at Bonaventure in the upscale community of Weston, just west of Fort Lauderdale. The 3 hour drive south on I-95 went smoothly until I was about an hour from Fort Lauderdale and the traffic increased ten-fold. Out of nowhere came a plastic garbage bin that was being blown across the interstate. At 70 mph there was no way I could avoid it so it got smashed to pieces and hopefully didn't do any damage to my vehicle.

    On check-in at the resort I was told that I had a recently renovated unit. The only thing new in the whole condo was the big screen TV! I felt like I was living in the '80s. The next morning there was an horrendous storm with 3 tornadoes touching down, one just 17 km away. It knocked out the internet for the next 3 days. I felt lost without my computer. I complained to management and at least got my $25 internet fee refunded.

    Every morning I was awakened at 7 by the front end loaders and dump trucks that were digging up the resort's golf course to make way for some multimillion dollar homes.
    Read more