Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Istanbul by winter

    February 25, 2018 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    December 2017, work dinner. My buddy Evrim says:
    "You still didn't come to visit me in Istanbul".
    So I opened the internet and booked my flight while the waiter filled for the 4th time my glass of wine.

    Until the last moment I was not sure I would go but luckily I did. Even if the hour long transfer from the airport, the usual queue at the immigration desk, and the relatively cold weather tested my faith in my decision making.

    Evrim played his host role to perfection. Nice cocktails, bars and restaurants. Friday evening we hit a cocktail bar with a small dancefloor and a very talented french DJ. Since we were in Istanbul we obviously had pizza for breakfast on Saturday and went to see Black Panther in the afternoon. In the evening we had a proper party in yet another stunning location, overlooking the bosphorus bridge. And instead of the late night kebab we had fried turkish dumplings (manti).

    As we overslept a bit I almost missed my flight but in the end I got back happy to Zurich.
    Read more