Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Set foot on Continent 6

    October 28, 2006 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    I made it to Australia. (A note to my sister...that's the sixth continent I've tramped. Looks like I'm ahead!) I traveled just over 24 hours to get to Sydney, then my plane was delayed to Adelaide. I finally arrived at my destination 28 hours after leaving DIA. Although, with the weather before I left, I'm just glad I made it. My good friend, Sharon, took me to the airport in Denver, and I reminded her that she could be going with me. She said she was glad she wasn't going because she had a bad feeling about it. "So you can tell the media, 'I just had a bad feeling, I mean, I'm sorry Dana died in the crash, but I'm glad I listened to my intuition.'" We laughed, but it made me a little worried about the flight, so you can imagine my delight when we touched down safely in Sydney! I had to hop a transfer bus to the domestic terminal to catch my flight to Adelaide. I believe in serendipity. I got on the bus and listened to the radio station. The B-52's came on, "Roam if you want to, Roam around the world..." And everything was all good.

    I am only spending the night here and will catch yet another flight tomorrow to Kangaroo Island. When I arrived at my hotel the clerk warned me that it was daylight savings time and I should mind my watch. The comment seemed absurd, since I had no idea what time is was and I felt as though I'd been travelling for days. Not to mention, Adelaide is on a half hour time zone. Does anyone really know what time it is?
    Read more