Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Neptune is upset about something

    November 16, 2006 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    I'm not sure where we stayed last night, but it was definitely rural. We headed off to Wellington, which took much longer than I had anticipated. We took our time, stopping often, and having fish and chips along the way. A couple hours out of Wellington, we ran into some bad weather that got worse. Kim was complaining about my driving until I explained it was the wind, and not me, that was doing the swerving. By the time we got to Wellington, my forearms were sore from my death grip on the steering wheel. It was hard to keep the campa on the road, especially when trucks passed in the opposite direction. I didn't think the wind in Auckland could be worse but I think this might be. The drive into Wellington takes you along the coast of the Tasman Sea, which was churning like a washing machine. When we came into Wellington, we were driving along the South Pacific; although calm, Neptune himself must have had a personnel vengeance for us, as he lashed rain and sea water, with the incredible power of hurricane force winds. But we would not be deterred. I really wanted to go to Te Papa, the national museum in Wellington. Despite the driving rain, we made it, and it was worth it. They had displays regarding the formation of the island nation, the landscape and animals, as well as the history of the Maori people and immigrants to New Zealand. The whole collection was quite nice and there were some fun, interactive displays, too. While we were there, Kim finally asked someone about the weather. Of course, "It's never like this," the nice volunteer said. I hope not. We got some hot coffee and made our way back to the campa. We arrived at the Holiday Park and strapped everything down for a potentially windy and rainy night.Read more