Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Free spa and massage

    November 15, 2006 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    We left Rotorua under cloudy sky and headed south. Kim was excited that the weather would be warmer, as it always is going south, then I reminded her that only applies to the northern hemisphere. Oops, we both keep forgetting everything is a little backwards from what we are used to. We drove a couple hours to Taupo. First we stopped at Huka Falls (no smoking) and walked the two hour trail. It was beautiful. The river meanders along the walking path. It is emerald and turquoise and clear enough to see ever pebble in the riverbed. Near the end of the trail are hot springs, then the Spa Park. As we looked around, we decided to go back, get the campa, and return with our swimsuits. The walk back brought a break in the clouds, and we had sun the rest of the day, which my sunburned back can attest to.

    Finding the park, via roadway, was more challenging than we had thought. Luckily, we got lost enough to find the best view of Lake Taupo and Mordor in the background. Lake Taupo is the result of the biggest volcanic eruption on record. The eruption created an incredibly large crater, which is now filled with Lake Taupo. It is surrounded by several other volcanoes, scenes of which can be found in the Lord of the Rings movies. We stopped and stared for a while, then continued to wander around before finding the park. We hurried down to the hot springs, threw off our clothes, and I stepped in to my ankles. Scalding, scalding, scalding!!!! I danced around a few minutes then hopped out. Kim, who I'm sure has hooves, got in and walked around. I went down stream to the little pool with the waterfall. It was cooler by then, so I sat down and relaxed. Kim made her way down, and I noticed she was a little red around the ankles. "I like it hot," she told me." "I like my skin attached," I reminded her. We hang out a while, then I head to the river. It is pretty chilly, but a wonderful temperature if you've been sitting in hot springs. There is a small fall, where the hot stream pours into the river. I stand under it for 20 minutes or so. It's like getting a massage, with really hot water. I finally get Kim's attention, and she comes down to try it, too. She stays 30 minutes. Before we leave, we sit in the area upstream. I found a pumice stone and start softening my little, beaten feet. When we were done, we were contented for having spent no money for the full spa treatment.

    We drove to Hell for lunch. It's a pizza chain, with such delicious creations, as Purgatory, Sloth, Wrath, Damned, and the mini pizza; 333. You can check them out at www.hell.co.nz or call at 0800-666-0001; however, their delivery area is limited.

    By the time we ate it was going on 6pm, and we had a lot of driving to do. If we don't get to Wellington tonight, we will tomorrow.
    Read more