Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    From snow to summer in less than 3 hours

    October 5, 2012 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 37 °F

    I was a little surprised to wake up to snow this morning. I thought the forecast no longer included precipitation. I wonder if Irish weather people are better than the one's in Colorado. I imagine it doesn't take much to forecast "cloudy with rain."

    We're sitting at Dulles and I'm wondering what it is that I forgot. The departure rushed right up on me this morning. As I shut the door, I realized my rain jacket was still in the house. That is one item that you don't want to forget going to the UK.

    I've already had my requisite run in with the TSA. Kim stuck a water bottle into the backpack, thinking she would have it drunk by the time we got through security; however, she forgot. I, not realizing she had put it into the backpack, copped an eye-rolling, you've-got-to-be-kidding-me attitude with Ms. "Who's Your Daddy" TSA lady. Imagine my surprise when she pulls the full water bottle out! I gave Kim the shake of shame, lowering my head with a slow, disgusted nod back and forth. I let her and nasty TSA lady negotiate the disposal of the security-compromising fluid, while I put my shoes back on. Apparently the water was so threatening, it had to be dumped outside of security, as Ms. TSA took her sweet time. When she brought the backpack, she had the nerve to say, with a straight face, "Here's your bag. I've placed the offending water bottle back in it."

    It's a balmy 80 degrees in DC. Dressed like Eskimos, we about passed out waiting for the jetway after our landing. Although the flight was 20 minutes early, someone forgot to tell the ground crew, so we spent about 20 minutes waiting for a new gate and jetway. So much for getting here early.

    We'll be hanging in Dulles for four more hours. Our flight leaves just after 10, and we don't arrive in Dublin until 9:30am. I'm not much for sleeping on airplanes, so tomorrow could be a long day.
    Cheerio!
    Read more