Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The Day of Eternal Sun

    September 8, 2010 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    Kim got me to the airport this morning, after a little anxiety-producing congestion on the highway. I got my boarding passes for Denver to San Francisco and San Fran to Tokyo, but for some reason I was not issued a pass from Tokyo to Seoul. Given the time, I figured I would deal with it during my lay-over in San Francisco. That turned out to be a good choice because getting through security was a bear and I got to the gate as they were boarding the final passengers. I got buckled in my seat, waited just moments, and we moved out to the tarmac, where the pilot announced that take-off would to be delayed 43 minutes. My stomach sank, as my connection was already a little short in San Francisco and according to the magazine in my seat pocket, I had to get to the international terminal once I landed in SFO.

    Luckily, I made my plane in San Fran but had to pull an OJ Simpson (running and jumping, not stalking and slicing) to get to the international gate. I was about the last one on the plane (and probably the sweatiest), and the doors were closed soon after I found my seat. Unfortunately, I was unable to get my boarding pass issue resolved but figured it would have to get done in Tokyo. I was fortunate to have the three seats to myself. At some point I fell asleep for a couple of hours, only waking because the drool had run down to my elbow. I've decided long flights are much more tolerable when one can lie down.

    I arrived in Tokyo early. Although I just about rammed into someone going the opposite way on the escalator, as I had forgotten they drive/walk etc on the left side, I had no problems getting to my gate. The friendly agent asked a couple questions, issued my pass and gave me a little bow, which I returned with relief. I have now found the Google wi-fi station, where I’m juicing batteries and checking email. It’s about 11pm Denver time and I’m still feeling spry. It must be the continuous sunshine since 6:30 this morning.

    Tokyo is a nice break, but I still have several hours before I get to Jay’s house in Seoul. Can’t wait to get there and sleep comfortably!
    Read more