Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Bullet train to Seoul

    September 20, 2010 in South Korea ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    A big shout out to Sherri Hufford for the tip on Dunkin Donuts coffee. There was a Dunkin Donuts in the Mokpo train station, where I enjoyed a lovely Americano before boarding. I rode the KTX train up to Seoul this morning. It reaches speeds of 300 kph (~180 mph), but you'd never know it. It’s a smooth ride, even with the countryside zipping by. I was in the city in no time.

    I left my bags off at Jay’s apartment and walked down to Itaewon’s shopping district. It’s a lively street with souvenir shops, brand name stores, coffee houses, and Dunkin Donuts lining the street. It feels much more international here than in the south. Of course, I am quite near the embassies and the US Army barracks, which might have something to do with it. As I was lollygagging, someone called my name. Yes, someone called my name. I turned my attention to the voice, and it was the Canadian I met last week at the barbeque. What are the odds: I know maybe 10 people in a city of 13 million, and I happen to run into one of them. Weird. Anyway, he invited me to lunch, which I declined, but I did join him and a friend for a drink. I got some shopping tips, as well as recommendations on where to find the best items. I’ll be checking out one of the markets tomorrow, while I’m out exploring. Until then, I figured there was enough to keep me busy in Itaewon.

    In the first store, there was a Korean woman working the floor. She was showing me everything I should buy. I was considering a robe but didn’t feel like I could make a good decision since I hadn’t visited any other stores. She was able to corner me in the back, behind a pile of textiles, where she wanted to show me more styles and colors. There, she started turning up the pressure and lowering the price, but I wasn’t convinced that I wanted anything. "Maybe you buy one for daughter," she suggested. Yeah, not a point of sale for me. "Or maybe you mother might like one," she continued. Yeah, don't have one of those either. But she was persistent and went for the kill. She explained to me that I was her first customer of the day. In Korean culture the first customer must buy something, otherwise she will have bad luck for the rest of the day. I tried to emphasize that I had not done any shopping yet, and I wanted to look around first. More forcefully, she again explained Korean culture and added that it was very offensive if I did not buy anything, being the first customer and all.

    I think she had bad luck all day.

    I got back to the apartment just ahead of Imy and Jay. I emptied my bags (filled with merchandise from other less insulting stores) directly into my suitcase, then Jay and I chatted while Imy kindly cooked up a Filipino dinner for us. It was fantastic. I definitely think she should open a restaurant! Kim and I will have to visit Jay when he gets back to the States, just so we can enjoy Imy’s cooking (of course his living in Hawaii will have nothing to do with it).
    Read more