Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 115

    Historical Harrogate

    December 27, 2016 in England ⋅ 🌙 1 °C

    It's 4 degrees in December and the tulips have popped out of the ground already. I don't know if my walking shoes will make it another month. I set out this morning to walk the dog and when I got back to the house, after the dog was good and tired, I set out to check out Harrogate. I walked 18 kms today and my legs are feeling it. Interesting things about Harrogate: six royal visits, famous tea house, famous Turkish steam baths with therapeutic mineral/sulphur water; roadways built by a blind man named Jack (a pub was built in his honour); majority of the population is upper class; majority of the people own at least one dog; and hundreds of acres of green space and woodlands. There is a very different feeling to this town, educated, fit, and extremely social. Sandra told me to go visit the tea house as it was a historical place well worth the visit. I found it but the queue to get in was 30 people deep. I did look through the window and the pastries looked fantastic. I will try to get in for the famous Taylor's Yorkshire tea. Yorkshire pudding also originated from here. Jim Carter (Mr. Carson from Downton Abbey) was born here and studied theatre here. The town has many active ghosts. Can't wait to find out more!Read more