Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 122

    York

    January 3, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    The dog walker was scheduled to come in at 1pm today so I took advantage after my morning walk with the dog and took off to York for the day. 35 minute train ride to York and paid £17 return. Works out to about $29 for the day. The trains are super expensive here and no where as nice as European trains or as affordable. In fact they are in need of a severe upgrade based on the ludicrous cost of them. Nonetheless York was great and rich with history and quite lovely. I spent around 5 hours touring around but didn't go into the sites as everything was a minimum fee of £6 entrance fee. What ticks me off the most is that churches charge a fee to get in. I refuse to pay an entrance fee for a place of worship and so I turn right around and leave. The vikings and Thomas Cromwell were in York and do was Constantine and the Duchess of York. Remember her she was the fiery redhead that Prince Andrew was married to for short time. I enjoyed the Minster Abbey and found the Ghost walk interesting and also Clifford's tower. Found the library in Starbeck later on my way home and tried to plan my trip to Scotland. Will have to go to the bus company tomorrow to book a ticket as the internet sucks for information in the UK.Read more