Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 150

    Grand Granada

    January 31, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    I have just arrived to beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains in front of me and 20 degrees. I met a woman on the bus into town who was complaining about the heat on the bus to me in Spanish and I actually understood her and agreed. I think the bus driver in his wool sweater still had the heat on. She told me she was panicking because she had to go to England for a month to work and had 2 small dogs that needed to be looked after. I told her about the housesitting site I was on and gave her my email address. She was very grateful and told me she would be in touch. It would be great to have one month in an apartment in central Granada and learn some Spanish and take a break from the hostels and especially cook for myself and omg shave my legs! We'll see if she contacts me- gotta put it out there. So far Granada is magnificent. The mountains are right there and I feel like at I'm at the west coast. Later I went for a walk and found the cathedral and the Artisan market which had so many beautiful things I wanted to buy, particularly interesting rings. I stopped in at a tiny canteen where four older men were having a rather intense conversation. I had a tapas and beer for two euros and then listened to them sing.Read more