Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 177

    Zurich for a very short stay.....

    February 27, 2017 in Switzerland ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Gorgeous train ride to Zurich this morning and I managed to catch some of the carnival before I left. People were drinking so early. I talked to a Swiss girl at breakfast this morning and she gave me the facts about fasnacht-wear the scariest masks to scare away winter, bring on spring and growth of new things, along with the celebration of lent. I had the top of the train this morning and what a ride. Zurich is huge and very confusing. The train station is bigger than Vancouver airport and by the time I found my way out and my hostel, which is wayyyyyy out of town it took me an hour and a half and I was completely drenched from sweat. It's very hilly and it was hot. A bit of a high class attitude in this city even with the hostel staff. I'm only staying the night and catching the bus to Salzburg in the morning, bright and early. Home if Mozart, The Sound of Music, bratwurst and beer! Yeah! I had a hell of a time finding beer today and finally did in some small store 2km from my hostel. My liver has been gravely cleansed in Switzerland and after today's walk I just wanted to have a couple of frothy Swiss beers. My bus is only 7 hours with a 1.5 transfer in Munchen Germany, which is good because I can stretch my legs and grab a pretzel or strudel. Looking forward to Salzburg, this city has been on my bucket list since 2008.Read more