Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 192

    Slavin and Devin Castle

    March 14, 2017 in Slovakia ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    It's already been two weeks since I've arrived and time is ticking away. A few days ago I went up to the Slavin which is a memorial site where over 300 Russian soldiers are buried who freed Czechoslovakia in 1944 and 1945 from the Germans. When I was here in the Communist years there were a lot of red stars and flags here. The door the the memorial shows the story of the freed cities and fallen soldiers. Around the Slavin memorial are where all the foreign diplomats live. Today I dragged my aunt out to the Devin castle. This castle sits on the mouth of the Danube and Morava River and overlooks Austria. It's was built in the 4th century and during the Russian revolution in 1968, 400 people tried to escape to freedom and were gunned down at the mouth of the river. Have not been walking as much in the last two weeks and am getting restless. I started running a week ago to keep myself from going stir crazy and porking out and have a track next door that I can use. Hoping to do a couple of side trips in the next week.Read more