Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5 - New Glarus Blues Festival

    June 29, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Today we made our trek to New Glarus, Wisconsin. It was a very easy drive. On the way I found the new Albanese Sherbet gummy bears at a gas station. We arrived pretty early in New Glarus to see the Jimmys play. They were really awesome.

    We got ten dollars apiece for the food trucks. I landed up getting a Bratwurst and what is called a Landjäger which is pretty much beef jerky. I then proceeded to get mustard on the very bottom of my shirt.

    I set up my stuff and went on. It was super hot and I went through like five bottles of water. Thomas once again was outrageous and we all played hard to keep up with all the insanity ensuing onstage. Halfway through the set we found out Bryan Lee was sick and couldn’t play the show. This meant the Jimmys would join us for that set.

    The set with the Jimmys was great. We played with their bassist Perry and organist/pianist Jimmy. They played tons of slow blues and upbeat swings. One tune was a rumba that went into a shuffle like “I Woke Up This Morning.” It felt like I was playing like Sonny Freeman.

    After the show we went to Tofflers and got dinner. Thomas made one or two loud but hilarious disruptions. The food was just okay.

    Tomorrow we’re off to Des Moines to do a double bill with the Bel-Airs. Apparently their drummer played with James Harman. It should be an awesome show and luckily it’s only about four hours away!
    Read more