Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 11 - B Bar

    July 15, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Todays drive was about 6 hours. We woke up and had breakfast with our hosts. Doug told me his blowup mattress they gave him didn’t work and lost air so he slept on the floor.

    We made our way to Nebraska, on the way stopping at Arthur Bryant’s in Kansas City. Amazingly enough (or oddly) I got ribs which were great; I should have gotten more sauce but the woman was berating me for pouring some in my take out container. Not to mention the dudes there “loved” my Instant Lunch Maruchan shirt.

    We got into Omaha and checked into the hotel which was a nice Hampton. Two rooms and I lost the “pick the year” penny game so I stayed with Doug. We then went to the place and it was dead; we found out this was supposed to be an after party for some festival and now they wanted us to play at 10pm. Problem is we have to get up at 7 to get to Branson by 2 or so. We order food (they didn’t have the pork tenderloins the guys wanted but I got a Buffalo chicken salad) and do soundcheck. Maybe the worst soundcheck ever. The guy couldn’t figure out how to stop the vocals from howling and everything was in the sub woofers. During the gig it was insane, some notes on the harmonica fed back and hummed. Andrew eventually removed the DI and used just the amp. Really the best part was Dennis G’s sisters boyfriend was there (John) not to mention Brian, the husband of the lady who came to see us at Fioras (Laura). I legitimately didn’t remember them, it’s been so long.

    After the gig we landed up back at the hotel and I practically passed out. It was about 1-1:30 and it was time to call it a day!
    Read more