Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Vasa, hairy pigs and photos

    March 25, 2018 in Sweden ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    We have ourselves a lie in til 9 before splurging on the hotel breakfast. I’ll have put on a stone just from this but I don’t care. We then walked over to the Vasamuseet. I was in two minds as to whether to go in or not as I wasn’t totally enthralled by it the first time round and it was really long very and sunny but I decided to give it a go. My initial feelings were fairly accurate but it was worth it to see Phils face when he saw the Vasa. Jaw dropped and wide eyed. After wandering around and viewing the ship from all angles we left and headed over to Gamla Stan and got the last seats in the hairy pig deli which had been recommended to us by Ben and Barbie. We ate lush hotdogs and Scandinavian tapas washed down with nice but expensive beer. After that we Wales over to Södermalm and went to Fotografiska which was highly recommended and was really good. There were exhibitions by Ellen Van Unwerth (models,tits and bums) Christian Taglivini (medieval Wes Anderson) and Zanele Muholi (South African lesbian activist with great hair) We had a coffee and cardamom bun (horrible-tasted like washing up liquid) overlooking the water and the most beautiful part of Stockholm before heading back to the hotel bar where we sunk a couple of pints in the rooftop bar and people/skyline watched. I was getting anxious that I hadn’t had any meatballs so at 8:30 we went out to try our luck at finding some. Fortunately a really nice place called Gastrobud (where I’d been before) was open so without dwelling on that too much we went in for herrings and meatballs (my two favourite foods now) before waddling back to our lovely hotel.Read more