Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Flight to Mount Everest

    November 5, 2019 in Nepal ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Early get up for an early flight. Dianne and I are taking Buddha Air to Mountain. That is the stated destination. Alan and Liz are going by helicopter to Everest base camp. You’ll have to read their blog to find out about that.
    Kathmandu airport domestic departures is a zoo. Abit, our guide knows all the tricks though and gets us boarding passes, directs us through security and on to the boarding lounge. There are some delays as there are lots of flights to Mountain. We finally board the ATR 72 and take off. Everyone has a window seat on this flight, so it’s only half full. I look over at Dianne and see she is sleeping. For crying out loud. I know it is dangerous to wake up Grumpy, but what if she misses the the Himalayan mountains. That will be my fault too. I’m thinking I’m going to have to take off my shoe and throw it when she comes back around.

    Once we are above the low clouds, the view is spectacular. It keeps getting better as we climb up and close in on the high peaks. This is not disappointing, something I considered to be a possibility. As we approach Everest we are invited to visit the cockpit for a better view. I love visiting the cockpit! On the return to KTM there are more delays so we do a hold at about 20000 feet for 10 minutes. It is a very scenic hold. Maybe I can get a job here when I retire from AC.

    Back on the ground again and we are met by Abit. Nice way to spend the morning.
    Read more