Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Let the adventure begin

    May 20, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    After breakfast we looked at a couple of options for the day. One was a trip to Cerro Blanco protected forest, the other a cab ride downtown to see Iguana Park and a nice Cathedral. Cerro Blanco required a local guide, and turned out to be more problematic and expensive than the time and value we thought we would get. So it is off by cab to downtown Guayaquil.
    I thought I might need some small bills for the cab ride and asked Catherine at the front desk for change for a five. She gave me five one dollar coins. I have never heard of an American one dollar coin, and I’m thinking I got hosed for five bucks but we’ll see. Maybe the cabbie will take it.
    The cab ride seems like a bargain. We were twenty minutes or more riding to our destination, and the final price was 5 bucks. I gave him a five dollar bill and two more coins. He seemed happy so maybe the coins are more than a token gesture.

    We start at Iguana park also known as Parque Seminario . The small park sits opposite a neo gothic cathedral and has a multitude of tree iguanas living right downtown. From there we visited the cathedral.
    Read more