Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Hospital... Finally

    3 februari 2022, Mexico ⋅ 🌙 77 °F

    Today, I pulled myself together after not much sleep from cramping, body aches, and using the bathroom constantly. I packed an overnight bag just in case and drove myself to the hospital for treatment. I was so scared to go to a Mexican hospital, and all of the Google reviews were extremely mixed between good and bad. I could barely walk to the door when I got there and tell them what was going on. I was relieved to find that they had someone who spoke good English to hear my story. I was told it would be $60usd for the consultation. Ok. They took my vitals, and Doctor Hector came out to get me. He is beautiful, at least half of his face that I could see over his mask. He has honest and calming eyes. After poking and feeling around on my abdomen, he concluded that my stomach lining was inflamed, and my bowels swollen. He assured me that I was stable enough to stay out of the emergency department and started me on several medications and orders to drink electrolytes every time I go to the bathroom. He offered a nurse to administer pain medicine via shot in my ass cheek for $8usd, and I graciously accepted. OUCH, that hurt so bad!
    He also ordered labs to rule out a parasite, sent me home with a little shit cup, and told me the lab opened at 830. So, I drove to the 24-hour pharmacy and waited for it to open (ha!) and picked up my drugs and electrolytes. I went straight back to my room at Andreas and had no problem filling that cup. When I returned to the lab, they told me it would be $260usd, and I asked if there was a cheaper lab elsewhere. They were not very helpful. She said she didn't know, but I could look. So I went to the first other one that came up on Google Maps, and they quoted me 1020 pesos (around $23usd), so I gave them my little cup, and they drew my blood. When I got my results, I could not read them so I went back to Costamed and a new doctor looked at them and prescribed an antibiotic for bacterial infection, as well as some really gross packets to mix with water and drink for diarrhea. It was so gross I chose to have diarrhea instead of drinking it.

    I rested all day long, trying to feel better for nighttime. I planned to take Tre and Chelsea to the Tulum ruins tonight. I realized I hadn't eaten all day but was somehow still going to the bathroom and began feeling very weak. I messaged Virginia to see if she could recommend a good place for soup. She said they make soup at her restaurant, and she would make me some fresh! She is so incredibly kind to me. I picked up the tomato soup that I requested, and she wouldn't even let me pay her! I went back to my room rental and realized I had left the keys inside, with the door locked. Omg a feeling of tragedy came over me. It was particularly hot and muggy this night and all I wanted was to eat soup in the Air conditioning! I figured I would have to book a room somewhere else to sleep tonight but called my dad first just to have someone to vent to. He said the same thing, to go book another room until the reception opens in the morning. As we were about to hang up he said, "You can probably stick your credit card in the door to pop the lock." So I told him I would try it and we hung up. Holy fucking shit, that WORKED!!!!! 😳 I was in!!! I had not been more happy in Days! Plus, it was time for my zoom call with Debbie and vendor friends! So I logged on and ate soup with them while I waited for Tre and Chelsea. It was so good to see everyone again after completely spacing out and missing it last week. It was a short but sweet call as I had to go to the bathroom immediately after eating and Tre and Chelsea were on their way!
    Meer informatie