Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Stormy weather

    February 6 in Uruguay ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    A lot of the initial planning of our sabbatical required staying around Buenos Aires so we could go to Antartica - as the expedition would have started from BA (spoiler alert: we aren't going in the end). That was the main reason I added a little stint over to Uruguay, though I wasn't sure if we would enjoy it. I hardly know anything about Uruguay, so it was all a bit of a shot in the dark.
    Today we took the 1.5 hours ferry across from BA to Colonia and I have to say, our first impression has been great! We have really enjoyed Colonia, it's very quaint, lots of nice little cobbled streets with restaurants and shops. The only thing we didn't like was the horrendous humidity. We felt like we were back to the Iguazu days, even though it wasn't anywhere near as hot, the humidity made it equally unpleasant.
    We took a nap in the early afternoon to recover from last night's late cocktails and avoid the heat. We then decided to rent a golf cart (first time I see such kind of rental - it was super easy and cheap to arrange!) to drive around town. Little did we know, we got caught in a storm! As we were driving along the beach, we started seeing really ominous clouds moving at pace towards us. We couldn't believe how fast they were coming, and rather than worry we just stood taking videos and getting all excited (we love a bit of nature). Once the cloud arrived, the wind hit us so powerfully we had to drive in land and avoid the coast! Sadly the wind blew my glasses off my face - while I was too busy holding onto our bag and hoping our wallets wouldn't fly into the wind (and filming the whole ordeal for posterity aka our 10 friends on Instagram). We tried to look for them but couldn't find them, and the wind was so strong we just had to get away. Thankfully my eyesight isn't too bad, so I'll be alright without them for the next 6 months 🫠🥴.
    The one silver lining was that, along with my glasses, the wind blew away all the humidity so we had the nicest evening eating and walking around the pier.
    Read more